You may think that we all speak the same language when it comes to matters of the heart, but there are actually five key categories. This is according to Gary Chapman, who has sold 7 million copies of his hugely popular book The 5

Love Languages.
The five categories are: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch.

When it comes to love, this person needs to hear it loud and clear. Verbal compliments and kind words will make them feel appreciated, so tell them often that you love them. Words are important to them and they will often say things that make you smile.
To make this person feel valued, give them a compliment every day, whether you say it to them or leave them a note.

Turn off the TV, put down your cell phone and really listen to this person. To them, this undivided attention shows your love. They like companionship and enjoy spending time together, and it often doesn’t matter what you’re doing, so long as you’re doing it together.
To show this person they’re loved, set aside time each day (even if it’s just 20 minutes!) and be with them without any other distractions.

Everyone loves presents, but to this person, a gift shows that someone cares about them. It’s not about materialism, and the present doesn’t have to be expensive or elaborate, it just has to be thoughtful. This person is often a great gift giver and will usually remember birthdays!
To make this person feel appreciated, give them a small token of your love – especially something handmade – because it’s the thought that counts!

Simple acts of kindness are the key to this person’s heart. When you offer to make their life a little easier, they will feel loved. It could be fixing a lightbulb, doing the dishes or making a meal – whatever small job you do, is going to show just how much you care.
Express your love by getting through that to-do list, especially without being told.

For this person, they crave touch, and it doesn’t have to revolve around the bedroom! It’s about being physically close to someone, and sharing small intimate moments. It could be a hug, a pat on the back, or a kiss, but the important thing is to be accessible.
Show your love through touch by holding hands or offering to give a massage.

Most people have one love language that is more dominant than the others, but everyone has the ability to learn and use all the languages, and interestingly, many couples don’t share the same language. But the purpose of the book isn’t to put you in a specific category, it’s to make you aware of how you love, and more importantly, to learn the love language of important people in your life.
To find your love language you need to ask yourself these questions:
– How do I show my love to others?
– What do I complain about the most?
– What do I ask for most often?
Become aware of all the languages of love and you’ll learn to love better!

Now that you know your Love Language, what are you going to do? Call GetMore and we’ll help you deliver flowers, book a restaurant, find a weekend getaway or arrange a babysitter for your date night. Whatever you need, just call GetMore on 084 11 438 48 and we’ll help you speak the language of love!

%d bloggers like this: